Bumper crowd soaks up Pembrey Spring Truckfest 24 Apr 17

Article Image

A bumper crowd descend on Pembrey Circuit this past weekend (22/23 April, for an entertaining weekend of edge-of-the-seat racing and family fun.

With the sun beaming down on the thousands that turned out in their droves to the iconic venue, no less than 18 races were staged across the weekend from four different championships.

Heading into the weekend, the BTRC was set to be the star attraction and it didn't fail to deliver with different winners from both classes changing the complexion of the championship standings.

Division 1 saw wins for Ryan Smith, Oly Janes, Terry Gibbon and David Jenkins - further underlining the competitiveness of the series. Points leader at the beginning of the weekend, Stuart Oliver was unable to take the spoils and subsequently drops back to second in the standings now, trailing defending champion Smith by eight markers.

In Division 2, Mika Makinen endured a tough weekend as he failed to repeat the form he produced at Brands Hatch. The Finnish driver battled mechanical issues throughout the weekend, ultimately failing to add to his already impressive win tally.

That left Tony Smith to bag a brace of wins whilst Luke Garrett and Simon Cole also took to the top step of the podium. In the early championship standings, Cole holds a one-point lead over Adam Bint with Makinen a further four behind.

The Pickup Truck Racing Championship was also present, staging the next three rounds of their anniversary campaign with a trio of different winners coming to the fore. Early points leader Scott Bourne took opening honours before Michael Smith struck back to win in race two.

As the sun beamed over the circuit for their final race of the weekend, Lea Wood underlined his title aspirations with a win, despite being handed a five-second time penalty midway through the race.

History was made in the APL Health Caterham Graduates Championship as they became the first series to officially run on the new circuit layout that has been implemented at Pembrey. Saturday saw the one-make contingent duke it out on the original layout before switching on Sunday to the new corner sequence, which sees drivers continue over the crossing before a tight, yet flowing left and right brings them back onto the old track.

In the Classic category, Peter Tattersall and Robin Webb took a win apiece whilst Glenn Burtenshaw was the class of the field in the amalgamated Mega & Super races. Burtenshaw in fact was the real history maker as he became the first-ever driver to win on the layout.

John Harmer triumphed in both Sigma races with Oliver Gibson and James Ellwood doing the same in the Sigmax categories.

Rounding out the action were two races from the Welsh Saloon & Sports Car Championship, both of which were won quite comfortably by multiple champion Jason Davies in his Ford Sierra Cosworth.

For the full list of results from all championships, click here.

The next event at Pembrey Circuit takes place of May 6/7th with the BTRDA Rallycross Clubmans Championship. Tickets for the event can still be purchased by visiting the website here.